Skip to Content
Home About Us Services Departments Careers News Publications Sitemap Contact Us Accessibility
HomepageAbout UsContact UsServices A-ZAccessibilityIrish SectionIrish Section
Divisional Services
Cork North Home
  Water Services
  Waste Services
  Home / Divisional Services / North / About Us


About the Northern Division

The Northern Division comprises an area of 2535 (979 square miles) including the areas administered by Mallow and Fermoy Town Councils and had a population of 73,511 in 2002.

Northern Committee Divisional Council meetings take place once a month.  Councillor Noel Buckley is the current Chairperson.

Strategic Policy Committees (SPC) were formed as part of a government initiative to enhance the policy-making role of the elected members and the divisional SPC for North Cork has thirteen County Councillors, one representative each from Mallow and Fermoy Town Councils and Seven external representatives.

There are two Area Committees - Kanturk Area Committee, and Mallow/Fermoy Area Committee which also meet monthly.

The Division Manager is Moira Murrell and Director of Services Tom Stritch based in William O'Brien Buildings, Annabella, Mallow, Co. Cork.

Both Mallow and Fermoy are Town Councils within the Northern Division. You can access websites for these Town Councils here:  and    Mallow is designated as a Hub Town in the National Spatial Strategy

Northern Division Area Offices are located in  Charleville, Newmarket, Millstreet, Mallow, Mitchelstown and Fermoy for the local management of Roads, Water, Planning and Environmental Services.  The following are the contact details:-

Kanturk Area Office

Freemount Road, Kanturk.
Tel.- 029-50040
Fax - 029-50612
E-mail -


Newmarket Area Office

West End, Newmarket.
Tel.- 029-60018
Fax. - 029-60874
E-mail -


Millstreet Area Office

Carnegie Hall, Millstreet.
Tel. - 029-70026
Fax. - 029-70263
E-mail -


Charleville Area Office

Charleville, Co. Cork.
Tel. - 063-81348
Fax.- 063-21439
E-mail -


Fermoy Area Office

Courthouse Road, Fermoy.
Tel. - 025-31947
Fax.- 025-32331
E-mail -


Mitchelstown Area Office

Courthouse, Mitchelstown.
Tel. - 025-24944
Fax. - 025-84072
E-mail -


Mallow Area Office

Annabella, Mallow.
Tel.- 022-30427/ 30423
Fax. - 022-30435
E-mail -




Home About Us Services Departments Careers News Publications Sitemap Contact Us Accessibility

Cork County Council Headquarters, County Hall, Carrigrohane Road, Cork, Ireland.
Phone: 021-4276891 - Email Us
Privacy Policy  |  Disclaimer