Skip to Content
Home About Us Services Departments Careers News Publications Sitemap Contact Us Accessibility
HomepageAbout UsContact UsServices A-ZAccessibilityIrish SectionIrish Section
Corporate Affairs Home
Forms & Publications
News & Events
Media Releases
Regulation of lobbying act 2015
Corporate Plan 2015-2019
Corporate Services
Communications & Press Office
Customer Charter
Data Protection Policy
Franchise - Register of Electors
Freedom of Information
Foilseacháin i nGaeilge
Higher Education Grants
Mayors Office
  Inviting the Mayor
  History of the Mayor
  Mayors Weekly Diary
Annual Report 2015
  Home / Corporate Affairs / Mayors Office / History of the Mayor

History of the Mayor

  • Past Chairman/Mayor of  Cork County Council:1899 - 2015

    Year Chairman Area Party
    1899-1906 Jeremiah J. Howard Lehenagh  
    1906-1914 William McDonald Minane Bridge  
    1914-1918 Michael K. Barry Newmarket  
    1918-1920 William R. Kent Castlelyons FF
    1920-1925 Donal O'Callaghan Douglas Street, Cork FG
    1925-1927 David L. O'Gorman Fermoy FG
    1927-1957 William J. Broderick Youghal FG
    1957-1958 Philip Burton Kanturk FG
    1958-1959 Michael P. Murphy Schull LAB
    1959-1962 Philip Burton Kanturk FG
    1962-1963 Martin J. Corry Glounthaune FF
    1963-1964 Charles J. Bryan Lisbealad, Dunmanway FG
    1964-1965 Martin J. Corry Glounthaune FF
    1965-1966 Michael P. Murphy Schull LAB
    1967-1969 Martin J. Corry Glounthaune FF
    1969-1970 Michael P. Murphy Schull LAB
    1970-1971 Denis J. O'Sullivan Bandon FG
    1971-1972 Batt Donegan Milford FF
    1972-1973 John L. O'Sullivan Clonakilty FG
    1973-1974 Cornelius Moynihan Carrigrohane LAB
    1974-1975 Timothy D. Burke Skibbereen FG
    1975-1976 Cornelius Murphy Aughaville, Bantry LAB
    1976-1977 Philip Burton Kanturk FG
    1977-1978 Patrick McAuliffe Boherbue LAB/IND
    1978-1979 Donal Creed Macroom FG
    1979-1980 Patrick McAuliffe Boherbue LAB
    1980-1981 Dick Fitzgerald Mitchelstown FG
    1981-1984 Vivian Callaghan Bantry FF
    1984-1985 Michael Broderick Churchtown, Mallow FG
    1985-1987 Vivian Callaghan Bantry FF
    1987-1988 Frank Crowley Kanturk FG
    1988-1989 Michael Calnan Dunmanway LAB
    1989-1990 Denis O'Donovan Bantry FF
    1990-1991 Vivian Callaghan Bantry FF
    1991-1992 John Cal McCarthy Rossmore, Clonakilty FG
    1992-1992 Michael Calnan Dunmanway LAB
    1993-1994 Matt Ahern Ballymacoda FG
    1994-1995 Paula Desmond Carrigaline LAB
    1995-1996 Gerard Murphy Newmarket FG
    1996-1997 Michael Harrington Castletownbere LAB
    1997-1998 John Mulvihill Cobh LAB
    1998-1999 Kevin Murphy Kinsale FG
    1999-2000 Tom·s Ryan Dripsey FG
    2000-2001 John Mulvihill Cobh LAB
    2001-2002 Michael Hegarty Midleton FG
    2002-2003 Paula Desmond Carrigaline LAB
    2003-2004 Tadgh O'Donovan Skibbereen FG
    2004-2005 PJ Sheehan Goleen FG
    2005-2006 Michael Creed Macroom FG
    2006-2007 John Patrick O'Shea Bantry FG
    2007-2008 Tom Sheahan Buttevant FG
    2008-2009 Noel Harrington Castletownbere FG
    2009-2010 Derry Canty Ballincollig FG
    2010-2011 Jim Daly Skibbereen FG
    2011-2011 Kevin Murphy Kinsale FG
    2011-2012 Tim Lombard Carrigaline FG
    2012-2013 Barbara Murray Youghal FG
    2013-2014 Noel O'Connor  Mallow FG
    2014-2015 Alan Coleman Bandon FF
    2015-2016 John Paul O'Shea Kanturk/Mallow IND
    2016- Seamus McGrath Ballincollig/Carrigaline FF






Home About Us Services Departments Careers News Publications Sitemap Contact Us Accessibility

Cork County Council Headquarters, County Hall, Carrigrohane Road, Cork, Ireland.
Phone: 021-4276891 - Email Us
Privacy Policy  |  Disclaimer