The purpose of Joint Policing Committees (JPCs) is to develop greater consultation and cooperation on policing and crime issues between An Garda Síochána, Local Authorities and the Community and Voluntary sectors.

Six-Year Joint Policing Committee Strategy 2016-2021

The Cork County Joint Policing Committee Strategic Plan 2016-2021 was completed in June 2016. The strategy sets out a range of priorities, strategic objectives and strategic actions following an analysis of the county and an extensive consultation process.  The plan is intended to deliver on opportunities afforded by maximising cooperation between all of the key actors involved in safety and security of the county by working in a coherent, efficient and integrated manner.  It is also intended to link with other    appropriate plans and strategies in particular the relevant objectives in the Local Economic and Community Plans that serve County Cork.

The Plan is now at implementation stage and an implementation subgroup was formed in 2017 to oversee this stage. 


The Cork County Joint Policing Committee meets four times a year with one public meeting held annually.

Agendas and Minutes of the JPC Meetings

Other Documents

Cork County Joint Policing Committee Strategic Plan 2016-2021

Joint Policing Committee Annual Report 2017

Please contact for further information. 

The current Cork County JPC was formally established on 26th January 2015 comprising of 32 no. members drawn from the Cork County administrative area as follows:

Cork County Council (Elected Members)

Cllr. Frank O Flynn, Chair

Cllr. Timmy Collins, Vice-Chair

Cllr. John A Collins

Cllr. Kevin Conway

Cllr. Joe Carroll

Cllr Kay Dawson

Cllr. Joe Harris

Cllr. Gearoid Murphy

Cllr. Ted Lucey

Cllr. Kevin Murphy

Cllr. June Murphy

Cllr. Des O’Grady 

Cllr. Daithi O’Donnabhain

Cllr. Cathal Rasmussen

Cllr. Michael Ahern

Cork County Council (Executive)

Mr. Tim Lucey, Chief Executive

Ms. Nicola Radley, Senior Executive Officer

Oireachtas Members

Deputy Aindrias Moynihan TD. 

Deputy Kevin O’Keeffe TD. 

Deputy Sean Sherlock TD. 

Deputy Donnchadh O’Laoghaire TD. 

Senator Jerry Buttimer

Cork County Public Participation Network (PPN)

PPN Website secretariat 

Mr. Diarmuid Cronin

Mr. Gavin Falk

Mr. Tom Howard

Mr. John Fuller

Mr.  Sean Kelly

Mr. Liam McCarthy

Mr. Jim O’Leary

An Garda Síochána

Chief Superintendent Con Cadogan

Chief Superintendent Barry McPolin

Chief Superintendent Cork North Garda Division