Camden Fort Meagher
                     Entrance to Camden Fort Meagher                      

Cork County Council-owned Camden Fort Meagher is internationally recognised as one of the finest remaining examples of a classical Coastal Artillery Fort in the world. 

  • For almost 400 years the fort played a key role as a strong strategic position for the defence of Ireland, the west coast of England and Wales. 

  • 65% of Camden Fort Meagher is located underground in a labyrinth of tunnels and chambers. 

  • Camden Fort Meagher is a prime location to watch ships passing through Cork Harbour, the second largest natural harbour in the world.

  • Camden Fort Meagher highlights include:

    The Bright Tunnel – Descends 160 feet from the top of the fort to the bottom.

    Granite Spiral Stairway– Offered soldiers rapid access to the magazine in the event of an attack.

    Magazine – Was once a store for vast amounts of munitions and gunpowder.

    Reenactments – Displays highlighting different eras take place regularly at Camden Fort Meagher.

    Panoramic views of Cork Harbour

    Exhibition Rooms – Interactive exhibitions time-lining the history of Camden Fort Meagher.

    Ground Zero 360 – The only resident 9-11 exhibition in the world outside of Manhattan, New York.

    Tea Rooms – Classically decorated Tea Rooms with an outdoor decking area.

For opening times and admission information please click here

Camden Fort Meagher Defensive Wall
                Camden Fort Meagher Defensive Wall

 

Cannon at Camden Fort Meagher
                 Cannon at Camden Fort Meagher

 

Cobh Heritage Center and ship
                                  Cobh Heritage Centre                              

Cobh Heritage Centre tells the history & heritage of Cobh including the famine, emigration from Ireland, the story of coffin ships, the Titanic and the sinking of the Lusitania.

Visitors can learn about the story of Annie Moore and her two brothers who left Cobh for America. Annie Moore was the first emigrant ever to be processed at Ellis Island in America.

The cultural centre is located in Cobh's beautifully restored Victorian railway station.

For opening times and admission information please click here

Display of information of the Titanic
                 Titanic Story in the Cobh Heritage Centre

 

Dursey Island Cable Car
                                      Dursey Island Cable Car                         

Cork has Ireland’s only cable car operated and maintained by Cork County Council.

Dursey Island is the most westerly of Cork’s inhabited islands and is located at the Western Point of the Beara Peninsula.

The Island Cable Car runs about 250 metres above the sea and can carry six people at a time on the 15 minute journey from the mainland to Dursey Island.

The island offers walking routes, bird, whale and dolphin watching, a historical burial ground and many historical features.

Cable Car Telephone Number: 027 73851

For opening times and admission information please click here

Dursey Island Cable Car over water
                Dursey Island Cable Car over water

 

Mallow Castle
                                               Mallow Castle                                

Mallow Castle, now in the possession of Cork County Council, dates back to 1185 when John, King of England, ordered the construction of the first castle in Mallow.

In 1282, it became the possession of the Earls of Desmond. Following the Geraldine Wars the estate was confiscated by Queen Elizabeth and granted to Sir Thomas Norrey along with the Lordship of Mallow and six thousand acres of surrounding country. The Desmond Castle was in such bad repair that in 1585 a new castle was constructed on the same site.

In 1607, Elizabeth Norrey, daughter of Sir Thomas and God-daughter of Queen Elizabeth married Sir John Jephson. Their direct descendants lived at mallow castle until it was purchased by the McGinn family of Washington D.C. in the 1980s.

The old ruined castle has been a national monument since 1928. The new castle building is not open to the public at present but one may visit the ruined castle and grounds where you can view the unique white fallow deer established here since 1600. They are descendants of white deer which were given to Elizabeth Norrey by her God-mother Queen Elizabeth.

Ruins of Mallow Castle
                                        Ruins of Mallow Castle
Mallow Castle
                                            Mallow Castle

 

Bust of Michael Collins
                   Bust of Michael Collins               

Michael Collins House is a Cork County Council-owned museum dedicated to Irish patriot and revolutionary hero, Michael Collins. Located at Emmet Square in Clonakilty, West Cork, the museum brings the history of Irish Independence to life, while offering an insight into the life of Cork’s favourite revolutionary war leader.  

The museum explores the struggle for Irish independence from its beginnings leading up to and including the 1798 rebellions all the way through the ages to Michael Collins’ death towards the end of the Civil War in 1922. The museum is suitable for all ages using interactive displays, audio visuals, information boards and artefacts to bring the story to life.
 

For opening times and admission information please click here

Michael Collins House Interior
                                  Michael Collins House Interior
Michael Collins House
                                           Michael Collins House   

 

Mizen Head Footbridge
                  Mizen Head Footbridge             

Mizen Head encompasses a dramatic footbridge which provides the only access to the lighthouse and Signal Station.

Built to save lives from the deadly Irish coast, Mizen Signal Station is located at Ireland’s most south-westerly point and is open to the public.

The Signal Station is a short walk from the car park, down the famous 99 steps and across the iconic Arched Bridge. Mizen is also known for whale and dolphin watching, bird watching, and wildflowers.

For opening times and admission information please click here

Skibereen Heritage Centre
                               Skibbereen Heritage Centre                         

The Heritage Centre operated by Cork County Council has a Great Famine Commemoration Exhibition, exhibits, dramatisations, and interactive stations.

It also houses the Lough Hyne Visitor Centre which was Ireland’s first Marine Nature Reserve.

For opening times and admission information please click here

Skibbereen Heritage Centre Display
                             Skibbereen Heritage Centre Display

 

 

Europe’s Leading Tourist Attraction Logo

Once the largest convict prison depot in the world, and now an award-winning tourism and heritage centre, the formidable Spike Island is a must-visit destination in Cork. Located in Cork Harbour, the 2nd largest harbour in the world, the County Council-owned former prison site earned the accolade of ‘Europe’s Leading Tourist Attraction’ in the prestigious World Travel Awards in 2017.

In the last 1300 years Spike island has been home to rioters and redcoats, captains and convicts, monks and monasteries and sinners and saints.   Its beautiful 104 acres have housed an Island Monastery, Fortress, Prison and Homes and today the island can be reached by a short and scenic ferry from heritage town Cobh. Once on the island visitors join Ireland's best storytellers for a mesmerising insight into the personal stories of this unique corner of the Ancient East.  


Enter the 200 year old Fort Mitchel, the 24 acre star shaped Fortress built to defend an empire that became the largest prison in the world in the 1850’s during the famine years.  Tens of thousands of Irish men and women were transported to America and Australia from Spikes prison.  The island would be used by both the British and Irish army and navy before becoming a prison again in the 1980’s.

 
Today visitors can explore the vast Fortress, enter the infamous Punishment block and modern prison cells, see Irelands largest military gun park, journey through the tunnels to the harbour defence guns, enter the former children's prison and explore the 104 acres of villages, beaches and grasslands.

 

Take the scenic ferry ride from Kennedy Pier, Cobh, and experience the phenomenal history of the island prison

For opening times and admission information please click here

 

Spike Island aerial

Spike Island

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Spike Island, mock prisoner

 
Youghal Clock Tower Exterior
             Youghal Clock Tower                          

Youghal Clock Gate Tower is an iconic building located in the charming seaside resort town Youghal in East Cork. A popular attraction on Ireland’s Ancient East, the former gaol is the most visible landmark in Youghal town.

Built in 1777, its story spans 600 hundred years of history. Once closed to the public, the distinctive building reopened its doors in 2017– this time not as a grim prison, but instead as a place to explore the tales of its fascinating past.

Each of the 4 floors of the Tower brings as unique a story as the era it depicts. The storytellers' guide of Youghal Clock Gate Tower is a series of wonderful stories and tales of "Time". Storytellers clad in "Time Costume" will journey with you and engage you in life as lived in the Tower in a bygone era. A trip to Youghal is incomplete without a visit to this unique historic structure.  

For opening times and admission information please click here

Youghal Clock Tower

 

Youghal Clock Tower