Cork County Council Celebrate Success at this Year’s Pride of Place Awards

Cork County Council were announced as the winner of the overall award for ‘Council Community Engagement’. Pictured (L-R) Cllr Paul Hayes, Tom Dowling, Chair of Pride of Place, Jill Armstrong Deputy Lieutenant of the County of Armagh, Mayor of the County of Cork, Cllr. Frank O’Flynn, John Horgan Chair IBP, Aileen Walsh, Cork County Council, Niall Healy, Director of Service, Cork County Council.

People from all corners of Ireland gathered in Armagh City Hotel on Friday last for this year’s highly anticipated Pride of Place awards.  Now in its 21st Year, the prestigious awards honour the remarkable contributions of individuals and community groups dedicated to improving their local communities.

Cork County Council had five community nominations in this year’s competition and achieved remarkable success winning the overall prestigious award for ‘Council Community Engagement’. Banteer Community Group took home the award for ‘Holistic Community Well Being’, Youghal Tidy Towns and Rylane Community Park Association were special award winners, while Clonakilty Tidy Towns came runner up in the category for ‘Climate Action and Biodiversity’. Boherbue Tidy Towns were also nominated in Category 1 (Population 0-500).

The competition which is sponsored by IPB Insurance and run by Co-operation Ireland, is based on communities demonstrating directly to the judges their pride in their place by oral presentations where they highlight community activities, culture and many other aspects that contribute to their pride of place.

Congratulating the winners, Mayor of the County of Cork, Cllr. Frank O’Flynn said, 

It’s heartening to see the hard work and dedication these individuals have put into their communities. The high standard of competition and the achievements of all the nominees recognised tonight is testament to their unwavering efforts and contribution, by working together they have made a real and practical difference in their localities. It’s a great honour to see their contributions be rewarded on such a public stage.


Chief Executive of Cork County Council, Valerie O’Sullivan added 

Valerie O'Sullivan

Chief Executive

Cork County Council Headquarters, County Hall, Carrigrohane Road, Cork, Ireland. Eircode: T12 R2NC.

My congratulations to all the communities for their fantastic achievements, the awards they received tonight demonstrate their exceptional efforts and commitment to improving their communities. We are immensely proud that Cork County Council has been awarded the Community Engagement Award. We take great pride in our connection to our communities and will continue to further strengthen these partnerships into the future.