The Islands of West Cork

Cork is one of only 6 counties in the country that have permanent island communities.

There are 8 West Cork islands in total, 7 of which are inhabited:

  • Heir Island
  • Sherkin Island
  • Cape Clear Island
  • Whiddy Island
  • Dursey Island
  • Long Island
  • Garnish Island

Each of the islands are shaped by the Atlantic waves and their unique island stories. Each one is a fascinating place to experience Cork’s pure exhilarating beauty and the drama of the Wild Atlantic Way.