A Welcome from the Mayor of County Cork, Cllr. Christopher O'Sullivan

Mayor of the County of Cork, Councillor Christopher O'Sullivan
Mayor of the County of Cork,
Councillor Christopher O'Sullivan

It gives me great pleasure to welcome you to Cork County Council’s website. I believe that you will find its contents, links and online services to be of great interest and value.

The County Mayor and Elected Members of Cork County Council are supported by the Executive which is led by the Chief Executive, Mr Tim Lucey. You can find more information on my fellow Councillors on this website, including contact details, Minutes of Council meetings are also available. 

There are 55 Elected Members, representing the 10 electoral areas, corresponding to the 8 Municipal Districts. Elected Members, or Councillors, are elected for a five-year term by you, the citizens of County Cork. The next Local Elections are in June 2024.

Cork County Council has developed this website to be one which is accessible and easy to use, providing timely and relevant content in a navigable format. You will find information on topics that interest you, as well as information on services that you can access.

I believe that it is of utmost importance that citizens feel connected to their local Council and their Elected Members; this website is but one of a range of channels of communication between Cork County Council and the communities and stakeholders in our county.

Thank you for visiting Cork County Council; I hope you find what you’re looking for, and that you continue to visit the site as new features are added over time.


Best wishes,

Councillor Christopher O'Sullivan, Mayor of the County of Cork.

Any group wishing to invite The Mayor of The County of Cork or their Deputy to attend a function should complete the below form and submit to:

Corporate Services, Cork County Council
Floor 14, County Hall, Carrigrohane Road, Cork, T12 R2NC

Phone: 021-4285367
Email: mayor@corkcoco.ie

Mayor's Event Protocol 2019 (English)

Mayor's Event Protocol 2019 (As Gaeilge)


S:\Council Crests and Logos\Logo Formats from Disc\Cork County Council copy.gif


Mayor’s Diary for Week Monday, 21st October, 2019 - Sunday, 27th October, 2019



Monday, 21st October

10.30am   Visit by the Vice Governor of Hebei, Mr Qingshuang Shi to Cork County Council, County Hall, Cork.

                Cllr. Michael Hegarty to deputise


11.00am   Western Divisional Meeting, Clonakilty, Co. Cork.

                Mayor to attend


4.00pm    PGI Meeting, Clonakilty, Co.Cork. 

                Mayor to attend


Thursday 24th October


12.00pm – Tabor Group Conference, Clayton Silver Springs Conference Centre, Cork.

                  Mayor to attend 


4.15pm – Reuse Republic Event 2019, County Hall, Cork.

               Mayor to attend 


Friday, 25th October


7.00pm   Youghaloween Spooktacular Opening Ceremony, Mall Beach, Youghal, Co. Cork.

                Cllr. Mary Linehan Foley to deputise


8.00pm   Máire Ní Síthigh Autumn School Opening, Pier House Bar, Courtmacsherry, Co. Cork.

               Mayor to attend


Saturday 26th October


2.00pm     Charleville playground Opening, Charleville, Co. Cork.

                 Cllr. Ian Doyle to deputise


3.00pm   Drinagh Tractor Run Press Launch, Drinagh, Co.Cork.

               Mayor to attend


7.00pm   Spinal Injuries Ball, Clayton Silver Springs, Cork.

               Mayor to attend


Mayor’s Diary may be updated throughout the Week   


Each Elected Member of the Council, the Chief Executive and Members of Senior Management Team are designated Public Officials under the Regulation of Lobbying Act 2015.

You can find the contact details for the Elected Members here.

The Corporate Policy Group (CPG) is a Committee of the Council and is established under Section 133 of the Local Government Act 2001. It comprises the Cathaoirleach of Cork County Council who chairs the group, the chairpersons of the Council's Strategic Policy Committees, and the chairs of each Municipal District.


The role of the CPG is to advise and assist Elected Members in the formulation, development, monitoring, and review of policy. It may also make proposals for the allocation of business between SPCs and for the general coordination of business.

The CPG also may promote coordination, consistency, effectiveness, and avoidance of duplication in the performance of functions of the Council by Municipal District members. 

The Chief Executive is obliged to consult with the CPG in the preparation of the Corporate Plan and in the drafting of the Council's draft budget. The CPG may also request the Chief Executive to provide a report to it on any matter relating to a function of the Council.

The current membership of the CPG is:

Tim Lucey, Chief Executive

Mayor, Cllr Patrick Gerard Murphy

Cllr. Kevin Murphy

Cllr. John Paul O’Shea

Cllr. Des O’Grady

Cllr. Declan Hurley

Cllr. Frank O’Flynn

Cllr. Alan Coleman

Cllr. Michael Hegarty

Cllr. Anthony Barry


The CPG meets regularly.


You can find the minutes of Full Council Meetings here.

For other Meeting Minutes please follow this link

Contact Us

Cork County Council Headquarters, County Hall, Carrigrohane Road T12 R2NC