A Welcome from the Mayor of County Cork, Patrick Gerard Murphy

County Mayor
            County Mayor, Patrick Gerard Murphy                





It gives me great pleasure to welcome you to Cork County Council’s website. I believe that you will find its contents, links and online services to be of great interest and value.







The County Mayor and Elected Members of Cork County Council are supported by the Executive which is led by the Chief Executive, Mr Tim Lucey. You can find more information on my fellow Councillors on this website, including contact details, Minutes of Council meetings are also available. 

There are 55 Elected Members, representing the 8 electoral areas, corresponding to the 8 Municipal Districts. Elected Members, or Councillors, are elected for a five year term by you, the citizens of County Cork. The next Local Elections are in June 2019.

Cork County Council has developed this website to be one which is accessible and easy to use, providing timely and relevant content in a navigable format. You will find information on topics that interest you, as well as information on services that you can access.

I believe that it is of utmost importance that citizens feel connected to their local Council and their Elected Members; this website is but one of a range of channels of communication between Cork County Council and the communities and stakeholders in our county.

Thank you for visiting Cork County Council; I hope you find what you’re looking for, and that you continue to visit the site as new features are added over time.


Best wishes,

Councillor Patrick Gerard Murphy, Mayor of the County of Cork.

Mayor's Diary

Mayor’s Diary for Week Ending Sunday 17th February – Sunday 24th February
Mayor’s Diary maybe updated throughout the Week

Wednesday, 20th February

14.00pm  Local Link
                Westlodge Hotel
                County Mayor Cllr Patrick Gerard Murphy to attend


Friday, 22nd  February

9.45am   Pieta House Official Launch
               Pieta House, Military Hill, Cork.
               County Mayor Cllr Patrick Gerard Murphy to attend

10.00am   Eating Disorder Awareness Week Launch
                 St Colman’s College, Youghal Road, Midleton,
                 Deputy Mayor Mary Linehan Foley to attend
11.30am   Official Opening of Housing Scheme
                 Masseytown, Macroom, Co. Cork.
                 County Mayor Cllr Patrick Gerard Murphy to attend

12.45pm  Cork Sports Awards Ballygarvan Minor Camogie Team
                Metropole Hotel
                Cllr Joe Harris to Deputise

14.30pm   Meeting with Denis Leamy CEO of Cork ETB
                 Mayor’s Office, County Hall
                 County Mayor Cllr Patrick Gerard Murphy to attend

19.00pm   Construction Industry Federation Dinner
                 Fota Island Resort Hotel.
                 County Mayor Cllr Patrick Gerard Murphy to attend
















Elected Members Contact Information

Each Elected Member of the Council, the Chief Executive and Members of Senior Management Team are designated Public Officials under the Regulation of Lobbying Act 2015.

You can find the contact details for the Elected Members here.

Corporate Policy Group

The Corporate Policy Group (CPG) is a Committee of the Council and is established under Section 133 of the Local Government Act 2001. It comprises the Cathaoirleach of Cork County Council who chairs the group, the chairpersons of the Council's Strategic Policy Committees, and the chairs of each Municipal District.


The role of the CPG is to advise and assist Elected Members in the formulation, development, monitoring, and review of policy. It may also make proposals for the allocation of business between SPCs and for the general coordination of business.

The CPG also may promote coordination, consistency, effectiveness, and avoidance of duplication in the performance of functions of the Council by Municipal District members. 

The Chief Executive is obliged to consult with the CPG in the preparation of the Corporate Plan and in the drafting of the Council's draft budget. The CPG may also request the Chief Executive to provide a report to it on any matter relating to a function of the Council.

The current membership of the CPG is:

Tim Lucey, Chief Executive

Mayor, Cllr Patrick Gerard Murphy

Cllr. Kevin Murphy

Cllr. John Paul O’Shea

Cllr. Des O’Grady

Cllr. Declan Hurley

Cllr. Frank O’Flynn

Cllr. Alan Coleman

Cllr. Michael Hegarty

Cllr. Anthony Barry


The CPG meets regularly.


Full Council & Other Meetings - Agendas and Minutes

You can find the minutes of Full Council Meetings here.

For other Meeting Minutes please follow this link

Contact Us

Cork County Council Headquarters, County Hall, Carrigrohane Road T12R2NC