Governance and Administration

Cork County Joint Policing Committee

The purpose of Joint Policing Committees (JPCs) is to develop greater consultation and cooperation on policing and crime issues between An Garda Síochána, Local Authorities and the Community and Voluntary sectors.

Six-Year Joint Policing Committee Strategy 2016-2021

The Cork County Joint Policing Committee Strategic Plan 2016-2021 was completed in June 2016. The strategy sets out a range of priorities, strategic objectives and strategic actions following an analysis of the county and an extensive consultation process.  The plan is intended to deliver on opportunities afforded by maximising cooperation between all of the key actors involved in safety and security of the county by working in a coherent, efficient and integrated manner.  It is also intended to link with other    appropriate plans and strategies in particular the relevant objectives in the Local Economic and Community Plans that serve County Cork.

The Plan is now at implementation stage and an implementation subgroup was formed in 2017 to oversee this stage. 


The Cork County Joint Policing Committee meets four times a year with one public meeting held annually.

Agendas and Minutes of the JPC Meetings

Other Documents

Cork County Joint Policing Committee Strategic Plan 2016-2021 (pdf)

Joint Policing Committee Annual Report 2017 (pdf)

Please contact for further information.

The current Cork County JPC was formally established on 26th January 2015 comprising of 32 no. members drawn from the Cork County administrative area as follows:

Cork County Council (Elected Members)

Cllr. Cathal Rasmussen, Chair

Cllr. Sean O'Donovan, Vice-Chair

Cllr. Ted Lucey

Cllr. Kay Dawson

Cllr. Karen Coakley

Cllr. Kevin Murphy

Cllr. Ian Doyle

Cllr. Michael Looney

Cllr. Gearoid Murphy

Cllr. Frank Roche

Cllr. Ben Dalton O'Sullivan

Cllr Danielle Twomey

Cllr. Joe Carroll

Cllr. Deirdre O'Brien

Cork County Council (Executive)

Tim Lucey, Chief Executive

Mairead Lucey, Senior Executive Officer

Oireachtas Members

Deputy Aindrias Moynihan TD. 

Deputy Micheal Moynihan TD. 

Deputy Thomas Gould TD.

Deputy Pádraig O'Sullivan TD.

Cork County Public Participation Network (PPN)

PPN Website Secretariat 

An Garda Síochána

Chief Superintendent Vincent O'Sullivan

Chief Superintendent Thomas Myers